Fortress Beta City | Podium Audio

The Sleeping Legion

Fortress Beta City

Book 2

By: JR Handley

Performed by: Jeffrey Kafer

Released: October 17, 2017

Language: English

Format: Single Narration

Duration: 09 hr, 40 min

Thirty-five years ago, Lance Scipio pulled most of Beta City into an emergency cryo-freeze. He is woken to a catastrophically changed world.

The time for freedom is now!

2601AD. Tranquility-4 near the frontier of the White Knight Empire. Lance awakes to a world where unidentified Marines have raided his city, the enemy is occupying the unflooded portions, and oh by the way, the city is slowly dying. Lance must find a way for his Marines to survive.

The tasks ahead seem all but impossible — but Lance doesn’t give up, he is a Marine! The end result will either be freedom or death.

The Sleeping Legion is a breakneck new sequence of military science fiction novels set in the worlds of the international bestselling series The Human Legion.



Jeffrey Kafer

Jeffrey Kafer is a full-time SAG-AFTRA audiobook narrator and consultant. He has narrated over 700 books in almost every genre for such authors Clive Barker, Steve Alten, Maya Banks, Gregg Olsen and many others. He has 2 degrees in cinema and broadcasting and spent the first part of his career as a video game tester for Microsoft before following his true passion of acting. He’s been on stage since he was 13 (his mom still has the bellhop costume she made) and currently lives in Los Angeles with his family and dog. Learn more at



The Legion Awakes

The Sleeping Legion, Book 1

Fortress Beta City

The Sleeping Legion, Book 2

Operation Breakout

The Sleeping Legion, Book 3

Insurgency: Spartika

The Sleeping Legion, Book 4