Ganymede Wakes | Podium Audio

Ganymede Trilogy

Ganymede Wakes

Book 1

By: Joshua T. Calvert

Performed by: George Newbern

Released: July 20, 2021

Language: English

Format: Single Narration

Duration: 07 hr, 46 min

“It’s not the end of the world, Jack. But we can see it from here.”
In a grim future, astronomers discover the solar system’s long-theorized ninth planet, triggering an unprecedented space race, but not between countries. Instead, two mega corporations battle fiercely for primacy. Each wants to be the first to launch their probes into the darkness beyond Neptune.
Getting the samples back to Earth becomes its own challenge. Contact is lost with a research station on Jupiter’s Ganymede, the ninth planet. Soil samples. Megacorporations. Owning the future.
Special Ops veteran Theodore is drawn into the battle for control over the sample, which endangers the already devastated Earth and the only thing he still cares about: his team of mercenaries. He has two options: enter the fight…or hide under the acid rains of Los Angeles.
Amid the erupting chaos, astronaut Rachel Ferreira boards a spaceship with leading scientists to investigate Ganymede’s mysterious silence. Is there a link to the ninth planet? And what did the probe find?
Theodore’s team of mercenaries is dragged deep into a conflict where there is only one way out: to uncover the truth.



Joshua T. Calvert

Joshua T. Calvert has traveled the world—on foot, by Jeep, by bicycle, by motorcycle, and lots of other ways besides. As you might imagine, he’s seen many things most people never see – including an Iranian prison cell, from the inside! In Kyrgyzstan, he fared slightly better, narrowly avoiding being kidnapped for ransom. Skydiver, scuba diver, martial artist, adventurer – his goal is to experience everything possible, and then make it real to you in his books. And he’s made a good run of it so far: in the Philippines, he did police training on multiple types of firearms (despite being no fan of guns himself); dove in Asian waters among sharks and shipwrecks; and patrolled with Sumatran jungle rangers. That’s what defines Calvert’s approach to method writing: pushing himself beyond his own limits, to experience first-hand what his characters experience, to make your immersion in his stories as deep as it can be. For Ganymede Rises, after a slight detour with some smugglers in the deserts of Uzbekistan and the steppes of Mongolia, he traveled by dogsled and snowshoe to the Arctic Circle to experience first-hand what it’s like to be utterly isolated in the coldest place on Earth. For his book The Fossil, he sat with professional pilots in flight simulators for Airbus A320 and Boeing 737 aircraft to learn what it’s like to fly a passenger jet. His latest adventure: a parabolic flight with European Space Agency astronauts, to experience zero-gravity. All so he can describe it to you, in his own words.



George Newbern